### PINA 1995 CONVENTION IN PNG 6

## Pacific media awards

PINA Pacific Media Award winners at the 1995 convention were:

**Pacific Information Freedom Award:** Anna Solomon, editor-inchief, *Saturday Independent* (formerly *The Times of PNG*).

Newspaper Design Award: Fiji Times.

**Television News Journalist of the Year:** Jerry Ginua, Papua New Guinea; EM TV.

Newspaper Journalist: Peter Niesi, Papua New Guinea; Post-Courier.

Magazine Journalist: Ulafala Aiavao, Western Samoa; Islands Business.

Photographer: Asaeli Lave, Fiji Times.

Radio News Journalist: Sandhya Narayan, Fiji; FM96/Navtarang. Young Television News Journalist: Richard Broadbridge, Fiji; Fiji

One.

Young Print News Journalist: Sophie Foster; Fiji Times.

Young Radio News Journalist: Ofa Kaukimoce, Radio Fiji.

South Pacific Forum Fellowship for Young Journalists: Ofa Kaukimoce, Radio Fiji.

Special awards by the PINA PNG Organising Committee:

**Community/Student Newspaper of the Year:** Uni *Tavur*, University of PNG.

**Television Cameraman:** Gerry Kuasi, Papua New Guinea, EM TV.



Theresa Bossin ... editor of Uni Tavur



# Pacific Investigative Journalism Award 1995

Sponsored and organised by the South Pacific Centre for Communication and Information in Development, UPNG

### Prize: K500 and a certificate.

#### Criteria:

• An investigative article, television or radio report that has made a significant contribution to Pacific regional public awareness, or changed the public agenda in an individual Pacific nation over an important issue.

 The report must have been published or broadcast in the news media of a South Pacific Forum nation or the French territories, eg New Caledonia and Polynesia, in the 12 months ending February 29, 1996.

 The individual reporter or crew/team must be residents of the above nations or territories.

 Send a cutting of the article, audio cassette or VHS/PAL cassette of the TV report with a statement explaining the investigative circumstances, and a supporting letter from the news broadcaster/publisher editor.

 Judging will be by an investigative panel from the Australian Centre for Independent Journalism, Sydney University of Technology.

 No journalists participating in SPCenCIID's 1995 Investigative Journalism course, or SPCenCIID staff, will be eligible to enter.

Closing date for entries: March 29, 1996.

Send entries to: Pacific Investigative Journalism Award, SPCenCIID, Box 13, Uni PO, NCD, PNG. Tel/Fax: (675) 3267191. Official entry forms available.